Museum Affinity Group Announces New Board Members, Officers Leading to 10-year Anniversary

Staff Report

Friday, July 24th, 2020

The Friends of African American Art and Culture (FAAAC), an affinity group of the Columbia Museum of Art (CMA), is pleased to welcome three new members to its board of directors for the 2020-2021 fiscal year:

  • Monica Owens – Program Manager, Alliant Health Solutions
  • Tyson Lusk – Assistant Director for Development, University of South Carolina Athletics
  • Beth Ann Rocheleau – Founder, Rockwater, Inc. 

July also kicks off a year-long celebration for the FAAAC (pronounced “F-triple A-C”) leading up to their 10th anniversary celebration in 2021. The organization was established by the CMA to attract more diverse populations to the museum as visitors, members, and donors as well as to provide education on African American art and culture through its programming and initiatives.  
FAAAC has also elected its new officers for 2020–2021:

  • President – Therese Griffin – Manager of Energy Efficiency and Demand Management, Dominion Energy South Carolina
  • Vice President – Vanesha Perrin – Director of the Office of Medicaid Services, SC Department of Education
  • Secretary – Waltene Whitmire – Partner, Integrity Tax and Bookkeeping
  • Treasurer – Delores Logan – Retired business owner

“As an affinity group, we have a great opportunity to attract diverse audiences and diverse perspectives to the museum,” says Griffin. “An art museum should be a place where the entire community can engage and feel represented in some way. We’re especially proud of the foresight that went into establishing FAAAC nearly 10 years ago and look forward to building on a strong foundation as we grow our membership and base of support.” 

FAAAC membership is available to museum members for $15-$25, depending on your membership category. For more information on the FAAAC, go to